Don’t allow the passion to be lost…

I love spontaneous photography moments!! This is my favorite from this past week! Feel free to click on pictures to see them up close.

I think the hard thing about being a photographer is that my job does not have a consistent schedule.  Most of the time photographers also stay home with their kids, and maybe some of them are crazy (and lucky) enough to homeschool as well.  Sessions are all over the place from daytime to evening to weekends and sometimes in clusters.  Editing sometimes takes place during the day and sometimes at night. 🙂

The positive is that it’s a very flexible job.  I LOVE that!  The negative is that there is no start and no stop time. 🙂  So, it presents a problem for me from time to time.  Sometimes I have a problem drawing the line.  Do you, too?  I know I’m not the only one!!! 🙂  I love what I do, but sometimes it takes the front seat too much.

If you have a flexible job like that, or if you are photographer yourself, you know exactly what I mean.  Before you are aware of it, your family is being sacrificed because you are too busy…and sometimes even your own self is sacrificed in the process, too.  Last summer I made a big mistake.  I did 5 sessions in one weekend and another 5 throughout the rest of the month.  For me, with consideration of my family situation, photographing and editing 10 sessions within a few weeks of each other was TOO much.  It affected my summer schedule for at least 6 weeks solid.  My daughter and I missed out on fun times together because I had to work too much.  And when I’m too busy, I’m generally frazzled and a bit grumpy. (Sometimes even A LOT grumpy.)  AND my camera does not get picked up for fun leisurely because then it would give me more work to do editing. 🙂

Because of these factors, I decided to raise my prices in 2011 at the start of the year.  I am trying to do less sessions/month and spend more time enjoying my family and other passions as well, like being still with God.  My first goal is to allow for extra space in my life to have quiet moments and to breathe deeply.  I even want to be able to have space in my life to spontaneously photograph things and people more often just. for. fun. 🙂  My hope is that the extra time will also allow me to connect more with each client and spend more time personalizing their sessions. I’m really looking forward to this summer so I can redeem what was lost last year.  I plan on doing less, playing more, and breathing more deeply.

Today, I hope and pray that you will be able to intentionally slow down this summer, too.   Allow some space to intentionally breathe…to enjoy what and who you love…to be still.

Tuesday’s Tip for you…Don’t allow the passion to be lost in the things you love by doing it too much.  Find a way to slow down and breathe deeply.  If you do what you love as a job, take a step back and try to make space to do it leisurely, too.  It’s hard to make space in our busy world, but I’m finding that doing it allows space for passion to burn and grow deeper!

We sat and watched this snail come out and then turn his shell completely over. It was a pretty amazing thing to see! Thankful to have embraced that moment as we were rushing out the door to leave. 🙂

One comment on “Don’t allow the passion to be lost…

  1. Myah says:

    boundaries, boundaries, boundaries…
    We must establish them in all areas of our lives.
    I can’t wait to sit with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

